LAUREL SPRINGS BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular/Budget meeting of the Board of Education April 29, 2020 7:00 p.m.

1. Call meeting to order- President Manny presiding.

The meeting is called to order under the New Jersey Public Meetings Act. The secretary certifies that all requirements of the Sunshine Law have been met.

2. Flag Salute

3. Roll Call

Alison Manny Leah Straub Michael Brown Kimberley Brisbin Matthew Minder Sarah Woldoff Doris Walsh Erik Stones Cathy Ivins-Sims

4. Announcement of Notices/Communications

5. Presentation of 2020-2021 Budget

- **6. Limited Citizen Participation** This is the first of two opportunities in which the public would like to address the Board on Board Agenda items only. The Board is limited in its ability to respond in public on the following matters: (Personnel, Litigation, Negotiations, Attorney-Client privilege.)
- **7. Executive Session** (if necessary) **WHEREAS**, Section 8 of the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 11:40-12 permits the exclusion of the public from a meeting in certain circumstances; and

WHEREAS, this public body is of the opinion that such circumstances exist; NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Education of the Borough of Laurel Springs in the County of Camden and State of New Jersey, as follows: The public shall be excluded from discussion on the actions upon the hereinafter specified subject matter. Personnel matters, contracts/litigations, negotiations, matters of attorney/client privilege. Any discussion held by the Board which need not remain confidential, will be

made public as soon as is practicable. Minutes of the closed session will not be disclosed until the need for confidentiality no longer exists. The Board will reconvene to public session at the conclusion of the closed session. This Resolution shall become effective immediately.

o. Secretary sixepor	8.	Secretary's	Report
----------------------	----	-------------	--------

- 9. Superintendent's Report
- 10. Committee Reports

4	4	-		
•		Kı	ısin	PCC

Motion by		seconded by	
that Resolutions 0420-01-	10 are adopted.	·	
Roll Call Vote	Approved	Denied	Abstentions

Board Secretary Action Items:

1. **Resolution No.0420-01**

BE IT RESOLVED to approve adopting the 2020-2021 school district budget as presented.

General Fund \$ 5,614,642.00 Special Revenue Fund 110,188.00 Debt Service Fund 195,648.00

Total Budget \$ 5,920,478.00

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED to raise a General Fund Tax Levy of \$2,829,626.00 and a Debt Service Fund Tax Levy of \$128,984.00.

Superintendent Action Items

2. **Resolution No. 0420-02**

Motion to approve the superintendent's HIB recommendation as discussed at the prior month's meeting.

3. Resolution No. 0420-03

Motion to approve the following certificated teaching staff as listed below for 20/21 school year.

Jamie Agatone Kasey Rabena Lucinda Garvey Bart White

Darlene Stango

Vicki Iannotta

Janet Cybulski

Michelle Cruz

Lisa Corrigan

Brian Hofacker

Kelly Ingenito

Deborah McLaughlin

Jennifer Maienza

Taron Leidy

Julie Knipfer

Deborah Bertolino

Gina Vitullo

Grace Cooney

Aubrey Craig

4. **Resolution No. 0420-04**

Motion to approve the following paraprofessional/instructional aides listed below for the 20/21 school year.

Kristen Laurenzi Catherine McLaughlin Rosemary Pedano Deborah Schmid Ashley Morris Stephanie Carozza Jamie Szparagowski

Ashley Bachowski

Devon Lucier

5. **Resolution No. 0420-05**

Motion to approve the non-union staff as follows for 20/21 school year.

Jane DiOrio	12 Months (Full-time)
Sharon Isard	10 Months (Full-time)
Carin Haabak	Payroll (Part-time)
Ryan Mahlman	12 Months (Full-time)

6. <u>Resolution No. 0420-06</u>

Motion to approve the following stipend positions for 2020-21.

Head Teacher/Affirmative Action Officer	D. McLaughlin	\$2,318.
Anti-Bullying Coordinator	Jennifer Maienza	\$229.
CST Coordinator	D. McLaughlin	\$2,243 .
Substitute Coordinator	Jane DiOrio	\$1,000.
Safety Coordinator	Bart White	\$1,262.
Title I Coordinator (funded through grant)	Janet Cybulski	\$1,716.
NJ Smart Data Coordinator	Sharon Isard	\$2,566.

7. **Resolution No. 0420-07**

Motion to approve the submission of the Business Administrator's 2020-21 contract to the county for approval at a rate of .02 % increase.

8. <u>Resolution No. 0420-08</u>

Motion to approve the submission of the Superintendent's contract to the county superintendent's office.

9. Resolution No. 0420-09

Motion to approve the Carin Haabak (Payroll Personnel) a rate of .02 % increase for the 2020-21 school year.

10. Resolution No. 0420-10

Motion to approve Deborah McLaughlin as our Affirmative Action Officer for 2020-21 school year.

12. Old Business

- 13. New Business
- **14. Limited Citizen Participation** This is the second of two opportunities in which the public would like to address the Board. The Board is limited in its ability to respond in public on the following matters: (Personnel, Litigation, Negotiations, Attorney-Client privilege).
- 15. Executive Session
- 16. Adjournment